Musashi and then San Churro’s for Chocolate

I learned that I do need to put in a lot of effort and consideration into what I’m going to do or write if I want to, seriously, start writing a blog. So, here goes, my 1st blog; online and open to the public. I shall start with my trip to Musashi for dinner, and then to San Churros after Madagascar 2: Escape to Africa.

Musashi

– A popular Japanese restaurant among Sydney-siders. Located on 447, Pitt St., it could get crowded by 6.30 pm. My friends and I were lucky to get the only available table at that time. Almost like a walk-in! We sat down and pored through the menu. Haven’t been back here in a while, but, from memory, the food was pretty satisfying. There were only 3 of us, so we’ve decided to order only 3 dishes.

Sushi platter $38

Sushi platter $38

Fresh sashimi: fresh oysters, scallops, salmon, tuna, mackerel, kingfish, ark shell clam

I love sashimi! Not feeling hungry before, my appetite opened up when this sashimi platter was served 10 minutes after we’ve ordered. mMmm… My favourite has to be the tuna, mackerel, salmon, and scallop.

Chilli and Ginger Chicken $13.80

Chilli and Ginger Chicken $13.80

Chicken strips cooked with chilli, ginger, and shallots served with lightly stir-fried bean sprouts, mashed potato, and a simple onigiri

My mate loved this dish best! Juicy and tender chicken strips coated with the sweet and yet, a little spicy, stir-fried fragrantly with ginger and shallots, served hot on a sizzling plate. Yum..~ Would definitely order it again. We all loved it. Ate to the last piece of chicken.

Eel Bow Sushi $14.80

Eel Bow Sushi $14.80

Simple dish of sweet n juicy eel sushi

mMMmm… Eel. Who doesn’t love it? We all did! Eel’s one of my favourite! This was a nice sushi dish. We finished all of it. I think I had 2 or 3 pieces of it. Perhaps I should have eaten more, but my tummy was filled with sashimi and chicken. Next time.

After dinner, we made our way to the cinema and watched Madagascar 2: Escape to Africa. It was an entertaining movie (cartoon). Loved it! We finished the movie pretty early in the night, and have decided to go to nearby Glebe Point Road to have some chocolated before we call it a night.

San Churro

– Again, another popular choice for some chocolate! Located on 47 Glebe Point Road, it does get pretty crowded any day. We waited for 1 minute before we got a table. Lucky night! Well, since I was the only one in the group to have tried this chocolate shop, the obvious choice is to order a tasting plate, or the Tapas on the menu.

Chocolate Tapas

Chocolate Tapas

A variety of: Churros served with vanilla ice cream and choice of chocolate (dark); 2 rich milk chocolate delights with dark chocolate crust; delicious warm n soft, yet not-too-sweet brownie; choice of 2 chocolates; and 4 chocolated-coated hazelnut chocolates

Ice-blended Baci

Ice-blended Baci

Served with chocolate shavings. Verdict: Not too bad!

Banana Lambada

Banana Lambada

A friend enjoying his Banana Lambada milkshake. Verdict: pretty good!

Mocha Macarena

Mocha Macarena

Verdict: It was a bit too bitter, and rich!

The 2 chocolates of choice

The 2 chocolates of choice

Left: Happily Ever After (gianduja with hazelnut centre); Right: Shangri-La (lemongrass and mint)

I didn’t have a go at the chocolates as I was too filled up with chocolate! My mates tried it. Verdict: Happily Ever After – not too bad. Ok, not that I would know if it’s good or bad for him, but, to my knowledge and previous experience, this gianduja with hazelnut was pretty good. I love chocolates with hazelnut, so, perhaps I could be biased. Shangri-La – the fragrance of lemongrass and mint was not over-powering the chocolate. It was not too sweet, and was actually, pleasant to the palate. Fresh. Well, I chose this chocolate because I thought that it could be a weird combination, but, I guess, it was a good combination after all. Worth a try, if you haven’t tried it!

Churro Up Close and Personal

Churro Up Close and Personal

This is the way to eat it: Churro dipped in dark chocolate and eaten with vanilla ice cream. Melts in the mouth. Verdict: Almost to-die-for.

Aahh…~ Churros with ice cream and dark chocolate – not to be missed by anyone! Crunchy churros with warm dark chocolate and cold vanilla ice cream. Sounds like a weird way to eat it? But, it tastes so good!

Trio Adventure

Trio Adventure

It had been a fun evening. Thank you for being patient with me as I was a bit picky and fussy and just had to take pictures before anyone can start eating. Thank you for being there and supporting me on my 1st attempt to write a blog. See the notebook? Well, I made sure I jot down some notes just in case I forget. Ha ha ha…~

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chung
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 23:46:42

    Hi vickey.. first to comment🙂

    Nice blog.. i like musashi also… i’ll always go there whenever i visit Sydney🙂

    Keep the post coming… making me hungry liao..lol

    take care

    Reply

  2. Boy :-P
    Dec 24, 2008 @ 17:29:36

    halo Chee~ *applause* very well-written first post!😀
    like the writing-style. easy read.
    keep it up!😀

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

