Life is Fragile yet Precious

This morning, a string of weird dreams woke me up; but as usual, I rolled around in the bed for 10 mins before deciding to totally wake up and get off the bed. As soon as I switched on my phone, I received an SMS saying that a good friend of mine had just lost her beloved father that morning.

Just on the weekend, we celebrated our birthdays together; we were happy and had quite a night. Just last night, I was looking back at the video and photos that we took and had a good laugh about it. But now, the mood is somber. I feel sad and sorry for my friend. We grew up in the same town and had known each other for 20 yrs now. My girlfriends and I plan to attend the wake tonight – 7.5 hrs more to go.

I’ve read and heard about how, in Buddhism, life is uncertain, and death is certain. Life is also fragile, especially the physical body.

I’ve learnt about Birth, Sickness, Old Age, and Death. These are part of the cycle of life that we have to face, but I don’t know if we’re strong enough to actually face and deal with any tragedy thrown upon us. Can the mind be strong enough? Can it be cultivated? Trained? Or do we just develop it over time? Does time really heal?

I’m not the master of my feelings and thoughts. Although I know the theories and might have had some experiences in executing or practising them, but, am not sure about the level of my wisdom. Hence, I definitely don’t know what to say or do at the wake, especially in consoling myself and/or my friend(s). I just know I want to pay my last respects and be there for my friend, giving her any moral support that she might need.

***

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chung
    Aug 19, 2010 @ 05:39:41

    yeah, it was very difficult, and it’s the first time also I see family members so depressed.. and same as you, I felt that life is full of uncertainty and one should really cherish people around you.

    Reply

    • strangella
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 10:30:26

      Hope everyone’s much better now.
      Psychology has proven that time does heal. But we won’t know how much time. Perhaps it’s different for each person. My take is that it takes a shorter time for a guy than a girl..

    • chung
      Aug 19, 2010 @ 22:10:03

      Yeah. Time does heal. I think it also depends the relationship between the 2 person, and not just a gender thing

  2. Chung
    Aug 18, 2010 @ 01:38:57

    Agree with you, Vickey.. me too have gone through this painful process few months ago when my uncle left us..😦

    Reply

    • strangella
      Aug 18, 2010 @ 13:54:18

      It is a painful process. How did you deal with it?
      I feel that acceptance and dealing with it are two different things. I got a mixed feeling last night. I felt sad that it had happened, and yet, the people who were affected directly were strong, which calmed me down. Well, the heart’s just got to be strong, I guess.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

