Seafood Hunt 1: Coconut Flower Seafood Restaurant

Coconut Flower Seafood Restaurant 椰花園 – Teluk Gong, Klang.

The hunt for seafood to satisfy the craving for some awesome seafood began. I’ve had some seafood in some Chinese restaurant, but, somehow, my gut tells me that perhaps having it in a proper seafood restaurant would be different. So, three days ago, restaurant number one was visited.

As we drove into the area of Teluk Gong in search of this resto, we went past another seafood resto, which looked kinda empty. Upon reaching Coconut Flower Seafood Restaurant, I could see throngs of people walking in and out and seated on the many tables in that restaurant. It was a huge place and yet, pretty much filled with customers. Must be a good place for seafood~

We ordered quite a few dishes, namely, Coconut Tom Yum Prawns, Butter Squids, Steamed La la (clams), Steamed Pomfret, Razor Clams, Oh Jien (baby oyster omelette) some Stir-fried Greens, Chicken, Deep-fried Egg Tofu, and who can forgo Crabs? Definitely not anyone dining there~!

For drinks, we ordered for toddy (Palm Wine a.k.a. Coconut Flower Wine as per direct Chinese translation) served at room temperature and Guinness Stout. The way this drink goes it to mix the toddy with some Guinness.

toddy a.k.a Coconut Flower Wine at Coconut Flower Restaurant

I tried both, but preferred toddy in its pure original form; it tastes a bit sour and pungent at first, with a rich and velvety yet smooth aroma of young coconut flesh aftertaste. Intoxicating…

It didn’t take too long for the orders to arrive although there were heaps of customers at 7.15pm. My only regret was not having rice to go with the dishes, but then again, I would probably regret it ‘cos I’d be too full to devour much.

Dishes at Coconut Flower. Clockwise from the left: Oh Jien, Deep-fried Egg Tofu, Stir-fried Greens, Chicken, Coconut Prawns

Oh Jien. Verdict: 6.5/10. Not too bad, altho’ I’m never a big fan of this omelette because the little baby oysters freak me out. This one’s a bit soggy, too. Had better ones in Penang somewhere, some time ago.

 

Coconut Tom Yum Prawns. Verdict: 7/10. I love tom yum. This one lacks a little bit of a kick although the sweetness and sourness is there with a hint of spiciness. If you like lightly-flavoured food, this one is well-balanced on that level. But, the good news is, I can tell you that there are ~16 prawns in that picture.

Butter Squid at Coconut Flower

Butter Squids. Verdict: 7.5/10. Firstly, this is my favourite type of seafood dish. Anything with butter and eggs = yum~! It smells so intoxicating, I want to have the whole plate to myself; but I can’t ‘cos there were 8 other people vying for it. I’ve never had squids cooked this way, so it’s interesting to me (I was expecting prawns…). Nevertheless, the egg part was good and the flavour balanced well with the curry leaves, although I didn’t taste the chilli anywhere. The squid rings were a little disappointing by being a tad too chewy. Other than that, I liked this dish.

Steamed Pomfret. Verdict: 6.5/10. The fish was overcooked (but steaming is a tricky business especially in such a busy situation), and lacked of some taste, which was made up for by taking a bite of the preserved vegetable steamed with it. I liked the part where there were some bee hoon that pretty much came with it.

Steamed La la (Clams) at Coconut Flower

Steamed La la. Verdict: 6.5/10. It’s fresh, but lacked a bit of taste; there’s some taste of wine and ginger, but bland otherwise. Nevertheless, fresh.

Razor Clams at Coconut Flower

Razor clams. Verdict: 6.5/10. I really like razor clams, but I had only one ‘cos the rest were grabbed by the others on the table. It’s spicy from the chillies but also a tad too salty as they did use the little dried salted shrimps we call he bi in Hokkien.

Crabs at Coconut Flower. Front: Kam Heong style; Back: Sweet & Sour

Crabs: Kam Heong, and Sweet & Sour. Verdict: 6.5/10. The flesh of the crabs stick to its shell and doesn’t come off easily, and nothing’s hammered for us. We had to hammer the crabs ourselves, risking some of the crab pieces falling off the table. Kam Heong‘s just spicy, and Sweet & Sour’s just sweet, but not too bad with the deep-fried mantou buns. At any cost, it wasn’t something to ga ga about.

I rate Coconut Flower Seafood Restaurant 6.5/10.

The food was so so, although smelled and looked brilliantly tempting. I suspect that MSG is being used because everyone complained of being thirsty, and I find myself eating non-stop altho’ some said that there isn’t much taste in the dishes. Is RM700+ considered cheap, with the above dishes (appearing in double the numbers as we had two tables)?

Have you been to this restaurant? Which other seafood restaurant would you recommend (in Malaysia)?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. backlane wai sek
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 11:05:44

    I have visited this restaurant over the years and yesterday came as a shocker to me.
    1) Crab not enough sauce and no taste
    2) Fish over steam (despite returned and made a new one for us)
    3) Mantis prawn over fried, so hard
    Price still reasonable but I will not come back because the food is no longer good.

    Reply

    • strangella
      Aug 04, 2012 @ 11:25:14

      Thanks for that input! I haven’t been back in a long time. I guess sometimes, it’s just hard to keep up with quality control. Let’s search for other good places =))

    • backlane wai sek
      Aug 08, 2012 @ 11:19:21

      Some of the seafood restaurants in Pandamaran quality still good. No need to travel so far. Only problem Pandamaran area is quite confusing in terms of direction and even with google map can get lost.
      Bon appotite

    • strangella
      Aug 13, 2012 @ 14:43:32

      Awesome! Thanks!! ^__^

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 19 other followers

